My Left Thumb……


My left thumb

looks just fine

except for maybe that

lumpy, bumpy knuckle there.

Two months ago

something happened, not sure what

and now my lovely thumb

won’t let me

use it without sudden and

extreme pain.

I wear my thumb splint like a good girl

and I try to be careful

yet still out of the blue

I scream out loud

when the joint moves wrong

and

my thumb says

Hey Girlie,

Not So Fast,

I Have Decided

To Join The Party

And

Take Away Your

Taking Me For Granted.

You Will Now Obey Me,

Your Left Thumb.

I Will Now Control Everything

You Try To Do

Until I Decide To Stop,

Or Maybe I’ll Do It Forever…..

You Won’t Know,

You’ll Just Have To Wonder

And Feel The Crippling Effects

Of The Osteoarthritis

In Me,

Your Left Thumb.

I’m Not That Big,

But I Can Change Your Life….

Just One Wrong Move

And I’ll Make You

See How Bad It Can Be….

Your Left Thumb.

thumbsprain

(this poem is the intellectual property of The Nocturnal Laundress ~ Julie Nichols © 2014)

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Depression, Disbelief, Discouragement, Emotions, Endurance, Flare Up, Health, Life Journey, Pain Scale, Sadness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Left Thumb……

  1. Michelle says:

    Too bad we couldn’t just get new parts at a store or dispensary or something. I’m sorry you thumb is bothering you. My hip has been just like this lately as well. *sigh*

  2. Megan S says:

    My thumbs and fingers randomly get sharp shooting pains that can last up to an hour. The problem is it’s so random I can’t show a doctor when it happens.

    • teeks55 says:

      I’m not sure if I sprained it but I’m pretty sure it happened when I was packing orders a couple months ago. Ever since then I cannot grip anything without extreme pain, or something as simple as unbuttoning the top of my jeans…..it’s injured somehow. If this course of prednisone doesn’t knock it down, I am going to need an MRI or something to figure out what it is. I already had a rheumatologist inject it before Christmas but it did nothing. I am sort of freaked out about it because you kind of need your left thumb!! I’m just thankful it isn’t my right thumb!! Wish me luck!

  3. teeks55 says:

    thanks Megan!! :)

  4. Trisha says:

    A new body part dispensary would be wonderful! I have quite a few parts I would like to trade in. I hope your prednisone kicks in soon, Julie. Thumbs get used way too much to hurt like that.

  5. I’m with Trisha, I’ve got more than a few parts I’d like to replace ;). Hope your thumb is on the mend soon, take it easy until then!

Leave a Reply

