Blues Music Soothes My Soul…..


bluesguitar

I am a big music lover.  Music can touch me like nothing else.  I am not a big cryer.  I can’t remember the last time I cried over anything.  Oh wait.  I remember several years ago, I saw one of those commercials about abused animals, with the song by Sarah McLachlan (In The Arms Of the Angels), and I just busted out sobbing.  Music and suffering animals can always break me down, break through the walls and reduce me to tears.  Not much else.  I think I’m all cried out over most everything else.

Blues music doesn’t make me cry, but it really gets deep down under all the layers, underneath the surface, to where the real “me” lives.  I love all kinds of music but blues music, especially the really early, simple stuff, just does it for me.  It makes everything simple and basic.  Feelings come up and the music is like a balm over my soul.

Some of the new blues artists that are coming out today are outstanding.  Some really young kids are finding blues music and making it their own.  I love to really lose myself in some of the good stuff.  But still I go back to the early tunes, and some of my favorite artists who do remakes of some of the early stuff is something I could just lean back and close my eyes, and get lost in it for hours.

I think one reason I love blues music so much is because I have the “blues” so much of the time.  Anyone who has lived a long time on this earth, more than 50 years or so, is bound to have the blues.  Especially if you’ve suffered with problems that are sometimes so overwhelming that you feel like you’ve been beaten down to the ground…..as if you’ve been punished for something you didn’t do.  As if you’ve been thrown in jail for life and you are innocent of any crime.  Chronic illness is one of those types of things.  Multiple chronic illnesses definitely falls into that category.  Sometimes when I don’t know where to turn, what to do, how to cope, I turn to music and it calms the storm in me.

Many, many blues songs are about failed relationships….probably most of them are.  But when I listen to the blues I don’t pay so much attention to the words….. mostly I just let the emotion of the music carry me to another place.  I let it soothe my broken spirit, and I feel something akin to a healing deep down inside me.  Blues music is the most emotion-filled music I’ve ever heard.  It is agonized, tortured, howling, and mournfully beautiful.  I can relate to the pain I hear in the music.  And it helps me because when I hear it I know that I am not the only one who has felt totally, completely lost and alone in this world.  Someone wrote that song, and that person felt that same incredible pain….whether it be emotional or physical pain….that person KNEW pain.  That’s why I love blues music so much.

Here’s an old song (see link below) done by a band I grew up with back in the early 70’s…..this is one of my very favorite blues songs (and I love this version, they really nailed this one)……”Since I Been Loving You” by Led Zeppelin.  Sit back, close your eyes, and let it take you on a ride to another place, let it soothe your broken soul and just enjoy.

Note:  If you are not a big fan of rock music you may not like this. I think it surpasses the realm of rock but you be the judge. To each their own.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Blues Music, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blues Music Soothes My Soul…..

  1. tlohuis says:

    Oh, I love Led Zeppelin. My favorite band, EVER!

Leave a Reply

