Klutz!


klutz

So there are times in my life, usually due to sleep deprivation, fibro fog, medication, distraction or whatever, where I have my mind on something while I’m walking through the house and am so focused on what I am trying to accomplish, that I somehow forget for a minute about where I am in space and time, and BAM!!!  Well, today that happened.  I had been packing an order, had a packing slip in my hand that I was looking at while walking, and I unintentionally veered “right” and walked right into the corner of the plaster wall doorway as I was heading to the other room.  Plowed right into it.  BAM!

Unfortunately it somehow hit me on the back side of my upper arm (tender point) and I just about screamed out loud.  In fact I may have screamed, I’m not all that sure, because the pain was so intense and so sudden that the only thing my brain could process was that extremely RUDE shot of pain that came out of nowhere.  For several stunned minutes, I just sat down at the table with my head in my hands, rocking back and forth….and glancing every few minutes at the angry red mark on my arm.

The initial pain lasted almost 5 minutes before it began to abate.  I looked at it in the bathroom mirror and started wondering how long it would be before the black, blue & purple colors would begin to show up.  There would be no way I would not get a bruise out of this.

If you have fibro, you know about tender points.  If you’ve ever walked into the corner of a doorway, hitting directly ON a tender point, you know of the incredible agony of which I speak.

I fell into a pissed off mood for awhile, questioning in my mind the unanswerable question, WHY do I always have to feel pain….WHY??  All day, every day, and then something like this happens, that only adds to my suffering.  Yes….I had a pity party.  I was pissed.  Grrrrrrr!!  😦

I am over it now.  I am beyond the self pity and the anger.  But I have to admit I still sometimes wonder.  haha

Even though I am sure my lack of good sleep lately is a big factor in accidents like this happening, I know there is something with fibromyalgia that causes me to lose my balance, or run into things…like corners of tables, door jambs, etc.  I seem to sometimes start to teeter off to one side for no apparent reason, almost like I’m drunk.  But I don’t drink.  So, I am sure it has something to do with fibro.  I’ve had this “thing” happen so many times for so many years that the only thing I can attribute it to is fibro.  I start to walk and whoa….!!!  Like, where the heck is my equilibrium??  WTH?  I feel like such a damn klutz!  LOL

So anyway, I will try to keep a little more alert next time I walk through a doorway.  Will try not to veer left or right.  And I’ll let you know about the bruise…..  🙂

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Anger, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, clumsiness, Fibromyalgia, Health, Humor, Insomnia, Laughter, Menopause, Poor Vision. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Klutz!

  1. Trisha says:

    I have times like this too! I know my neighbors must think I drink, they way I stagger up my sidewalk sometimes. And I know just that tender point pain you’re talking about. Several times I’ve been walking down the hall and my elbow has just flown out and smacked the door jam right on the tender point. It’s unbelievable how bad it hurts. I hope you don’t get a horrible bruise…or, hit the same spot again before it heals. I’ve done that and it nearly made me cry.

    • teeks55 says:

      Thanks for the response Trisha. I just knew I wasn’t the only one that had experienced this. Just one more of the many weird things about fibro!! I stumble and stagger around all the time and yes, people might certainly think we are drunk if they see us like that. It’s a miracle I haven’t fallen down the basement stairs with a basket full of laundry! (knock on wood) Yikes, scary thought. Such a crazy illness that involves so much more than pain and fatigue. Thanks for reading! Take care.

  2. tlohuis says:

    Sorry that happened to you. Yes, I know exactly what you are talking about. I’m usually covered in bruises. Doesn’t help that I take baby aspirin 2 every night for the factor V leiden ( a hereditary blood clotting disorder). So it doesn’t take much for me to bruise, but I do feel your pain and I hope you aren’t bruised to badly. Fibromyalgia sure does suck, doesn’t it? It involves so much more than pain. I already have ADHD, so with the fibro fog, I’m a real space cadet. LOL
    Well, girl, be careful and have a good weekend.
    “soft hugs”
    Tammy

  3. Im sorry to hear that, but it also kind of makes me laugh because I’ve done so many stupid/painful things in the fog too! Be careful out there!

  4. shainajohnson538 says:

    Only every now and then! Wow, this is a daily occurrence for me with multiple incidences per day! Furniture is my arch enemy! I know what you mean about the tender point- my husband knocked his ankle in bed against one of mine and I screamed bloody murder and saw stars. I am sorry you are joining me in the klutz club! I hope you get some good sleep here soon and I am able to kick you out of the klutz club for a little while!

Leave a Reply

