My Way Of Escape….


When I find myself in a position like I’ve found myself the past few days (flare up of severe chronic pain), and when I have to force myself to stay off my feet, I have found a way to keep my sanity and my perspective. What way is that? Reading.

bookfloat

When I open a book, I have the most glorious sense of anticipation and hope….hope that this story I am about to dive into will do a magical thing….lift me out of myself and my pain, and bring me into a place where I can get lost. If I am lucky enough to choose a book that is well written, with good characters, great dialogue and a plot that I can lose myself in, it is the best medicine ever.

womanlayingreading

I especially love thriller genre novels, contemporary literature, etc. I love memoirs. I love anything that will take me away. I can sometimes read for hours and hours, sometimes all night long. If a book engages me, I cannot put it down. It is equally a balm to my soul and a hook that catches my interest and won’t let go til the last page. To put it simply, reading is great therapy.

bookadayrealityaway

I have a huge amount of books here at the house that my husband and I have gathered over the course of several years. We have book shelves in almost every room of the house. Our favorite place to find books to buy is Goodwill. They sell books at a fraction of the cost and most are in great condition. I remember when we first discovered Goodwill as a source for books. That day we loaded up an entire shopping cart full of hard back books and paperback books. It was like winning the lottery!!

cartofbooks

Even though I have a gazillion books to choose from here, sometimes just for fun, I’ll get a book from the library. My husband doesn’t understand this at all, considering the hundreds of books we have here. To me, it’s just a little “rush” to borrow a book for free and then return it when I’m done. I know…it doesn’t take much to make me happy!!! I am easily amused. LOL

bibliophilia

I also enjoy reading my Rolling Stone magazine that I subscribe to. It comes every two weeks and to see it in my mailbox gives me such a thrill of anticipation! Some of the writers they have there are absolutely amazing and the articles that interest me the most, ie: global warming, stories about musicians, etc. can capture me and keep me glued to the pages for hours. (Matt Taibbi ROCKS!!)

Rolling Stone magazine features rock band Led Zeppelin on one of five covers to launch its new edition in India this week, seen in this handout photo

I always had a dream of being a writer. Putting my thoughts to paper always came easy to me. My junior high creative writing teacher always encouraged me to pursue the field of writing, but it never happened. Life got in the way. I sometimes regret not going after that dream but now that I’m 58 and I find myself in poor health, I will settle for reading other author’s works….and thoroughly enjoy them.

Here are a few short lists of only a sampling of my very favorite authors:

Thriller/Suspense Genre

  • Lee Child
  • Harlan Coben
  • Robert Crais
  • Joseph Finder
  • Michael Connelly
  • John Grisham
  • Karin Slaughter
  • Jonathan Kellerman
  • Brad Meltzer
  • Lisa Unger
  • Giles Blunt
  • Greg Iles
  • Stephen White
  • Peter Abrahams
  • Kate Atkinson
  • Stieg Larsson
  • Peter Blauner
  • Kelly Braffet
  • Janet Fitch
  • Elizabeth Flock
  • Gillian Flynn
  • Tana French
  • Gregg Hurwitz
  • Marcus Sakey
  • Michael Palmer
  • Robin Cook
  • Linwood Barclay

Women’s & Contemporary Fiction

  • Jodi Picoult
  • Elizabeth Berg
  • Barbara Kingsolver
  • Eileen Goudge
  • Jennifer Haigh
  • Lori Lansens
  • Caroline Leavitt
  • Sue Miller
  • Jacqueline Mitchard
  • Laura Moriarty
  • Joyce Carol Oates
  • Ann Packer
  • Ann Patchett
  • Anna Quindlen
  • Alice Sebold
  • Anita Shreve
  • Anne Tyler
  • Lolly Winston
  • Elizabeth Brundage

Memoirs

  • Glenda Burgess
  • Kelly Corrigan
  • Carolyn Jessop
  • Paula Kamen
  • Jennifer Lauck
  • Jennifer Traig
  • Jeannette Walls

General Fiction

  • John Grisham
  • Dennis Lehane
  • Augusten Burroughs
  • Michael Crichton
  • Wally Lamb
  • Ron McLarty
  • Tawni O’Dell
  • Lionel Shriver
  • Richard Yates

If you love to read as much as I do, I would highly recommend choosing any of these author’s works. Pick one out, settle back and prepare to be swept away!!

readclockgirl

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do….. have a great day!

readpastmybedtime

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Books, Escape, Life Journey, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Way Of Escape….

  1. Jodi picoult has been my saviour on more than one bad day. So easy to read it doesn’t take much effort but so gripping it helps you forget how rubbish you’re feeling. I love John Grisham too. I love the ‘abloom a day keeps reality away’, that’s fab!

    • teeks55 says:

      Thanks so much for reading my blog and responding! I’m glad you have enjoyed Jodi Picoult and John Grisham as much as I have. It’s great when an author makes their books effortless to read, exactly what we need when it’s hard to concentrate due to pain. I hope you continue to get enjoyment from reading books! Take care. xoxo

Leave a Reply

