Accepting Help….


Accepting Help....

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
Image | This entry was posted in Life Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Accepting Help….

  1. tlohuis says:

    Yes, it certainly is. I feel much better being on the other side of it, but I need all the help I can get right now. I’m a much better helper than receiver, but I’m learning.
    HUGS,
    Tammy 🙂

  2. teeks55 says:

    So hard for me too, it reduces a person to helpless state of being and I struggle with it because I want to DO IT MYSELF DAMMIT. It makes me so frustrated but it is actually a lesson in humility….so god help me, I want to make this into something positive….my sis might come help me this coming week, could really heal our relationship if it actually happens.

  3. Especially hard when help hasn’t been offered and we have to find the courage to ask for it.

  4. teeks55 says:

    You are so right ~ asking for help is so humbling. My hubby & I don’t have kids… or any real friends we would feel comfortable asking for help. My sister and I have never been really close, so it blew me away when she offered to come over and bring us groceries yesterday. She also is taking a couple packages to UPS for my business (I’m self employed) which was a HUGE weight off my shoulders. Although I really hate depending on any other person to help me, right now I have no choice with my current health problems, and my husband who is 62 can’t work a full time job (10 hours a day) plus come home and do all the housework, cooking, cleaning, laundry and also help me with my orders. So yesterday, when my sister and my mom walked through the door, it made me want to drop to my knees out of gratitude. Even though it is maddening for me not to be able to be independent right now….when you absolutely can’t make it without help, it is such a gigantic relief when you get it.

  5. If we truly embraced that statement, it would bring us the kind of freedom that would wipe away the difficulty of asking. Pride would take a back seat to the clarity and washing of acceptance.

    • teeks55 says:

      Very true. We need to get past the pride and ask for what we need. It really is liberating, even though we need help. We free ourselves and then the ball is in the other’s court, so to speak. If they choose to help us, it’s a win-win.

  6. MCS Gal says:

    It is often harder to accept help than to give help.

Leave a Reply

