Fibromyalgia: Coping With Sensory Overload


Does noise make you wince? Your fibromyalgia pain may be related to a hypersensitivity to stimuli in your environment.

http://www.everydayhealth.com/fibromyalgia/fibromyalgia-coping-with-sensory-overload.aspx?xid=tw_everydayhealth_sf

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Anger, Anger Management, Best Self, Central Nervous System, Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Clear Mind, Endurance, Fibromyalgia, Flare Up, Focus, Health, Hyper-Sensitivity, Inner Strength, Irritability, Life Journey, Life Path, Pain Medication, Pain Scale, Sensory Overload and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fibromyalgia: Coping With Sensory Overload

  1. juliasarahelizabeth says:

    As I was reading this, I noticed my eyes were bothering me and I was squinting in an effort to protect my eyes. I got to the paragraph about wearing sunglasses in the house. I almost went to get mine. Then I realized I turned up the brightness on my Nook earlier. As my fibro pain increased, I became nauseated and light sensitive. This article described me perfectly. Thanks for sharing.

  2. tlohuis says:

    Thank you for sharing. I read it and bookmarked it, along with the other link you sent, previously, so, I can go back a look at them again and again.

    • teeks55 says:

      You are welcome xoxo

      • tlohuis says:

        Thank you so much for nominating me for the award. I am glad to accept, but I’m having trouble figuring out how to do just that and it’s driving me mad. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. I don’t understand widgets and all that lingo. I keep trying to follow the instructions sent by someone else that nominated me for an award that I accepted, but I’m unable to do what I’m supposed to do and how to get the image of the award on my page. Maybe you should have nominated me for the computer idiot award! LOL Please help!
        Peace and Hugs my friend,
        Tammy
        I hope you are doing better today. You staying off those feet, young lady? 🙂

      • teeks55 says:

        Hi Tammy…..I saw a doc and he put me on a short course of prednisone, and also referred me to a rheumatologist. Today is day three on the prednisone and wow, I can actually put weight on my feet now. I have been able to walk a little better without even needing the cane, and that’s huge. But he only gave me enough for 6 days!! I am afraid that won’t cut it. I will probably need to call him back for more, but I know they don’t like to keep you on it for very long. I may have to wait a couple months before getting into the rheumy, so I don’t know how things will go once I run out of the prednisone. It has been nothing short of a miracle. I still have my naproxen and my vicodin but they barely touch the inflammation. So….we shall see what happens in 4 days.

        Regarding the award “rules”…..they are such a pain in the butt!!! If I’d known all the work this was going to be I would have humbly declined the nomination. I nominated The Finicky Fig and I saw that Dawn Hosking had also nominated her and she just said that she just could not handle doing all the extra “stuff” required after a nomination. Now I know why. It’s a total hassle when you are not feeling good. It took me about 2 hours last night to figure the whole thing out, from coming up with 10 questions for people to answer (I don’t know why this is even necessary, but they said it was part of the process so I did it, which was difficult considering my brain is like sludge right now)…..then trying to figure out how to list the nominees with links back to their blog pages….(ugg)….then I had to notify each one by posting a comment somewhere on their blog (like I did with you) to let them know they were nominated. If you click on the link that I have way down on my post about me being nominated….you will find the main blog page about how to do everything. It’s pretty confusing however. If you have any specific questions, just ask me…..or else just look at what I did on my post and follow it as best you can. You know what though….if you aren’t feeling up to it, just don’t worry about it. I almost threw in the towel last night, it was driving me nuts too and I thought GEEZ I DON’T NEED THIS!!! LOL But I finally got through it and hopefully that’s all I will be expected to do.

        As far as the little award ribbon widget thingee, just right click on it and save to your computer (picture folder) and then when you are doing your post, just put your cursor where you want the widget thingee to go and find where the “insert photo” button is on the upper area and then locate the widget thingee and double click it. It should show up on your post then. I hope I am telling this to you right. Let me know if it doesn’t work and I will try to explain better. (hopefully LOL)

        I hope you are doing a little better today. The weather here in Illinois is absolutely glorious, I have the windows open in the house, probably won’t be many more days like this. It’s 74 degrees, sunny…..I wish I could get outside and do something. But I think the farthest I will get is maybe to sit outside on my front porch and read a little. I think I will do that at least, later on. HUGS xoxo Let me know if you have any questions, I will try to help. ~ Julie

      • tlohuis says:

        Thank you so much. I have spent hours trying to figure all this shit out. Excuse me, I’m not calling the nomination shit, I just get so damn frustrated with it all, not understanding all this computer lingo. I’m not messing with it any more for now. My BP is probably 200/150. LOL I swear. I try to be a big girl and figure it out all by myself, but no………………..not happenin’ I think I’ll go sit outside, myself, and get away from this laptop before I heave it across the room. Thanks for the idea. I’m supposed to be doing that any way.

        Yes, Prednisone is the “cure all for everything.” My mom is steroid dependent, and trust me, you don’t want to go there. Use it as little as possible.

        My 1st hematologist strongly suggested I go for “another” rheumatologist evaluation. She said I should be considered for a serologically negative Lupus because all my symptoms are compatible with that, but every time I call a rheumatologist, once they hear fibromyalgia, they claim they can’t see you. Hmmmmmmm………… It was a rheumatologist that diagnosed me in the first place, but he’s since retired. I’m tired of all the phone calls, and to be told the same thing, they can’t see me because I have fibromyalgia. To hell with em all! I’m sick and that’s that. I have to just deal with it the best I can, which isn’t too good, right at the moment. Would be nice to get the diagnosis that is causing all these other diseases that are attacking all my organs, and get the proper care and treatment, but I’ve just about given up on that because I’ve been to so many doctor’s and I’m just sick of it all. I’m tired of the fight. Like I said, it is what it is. I’m not coping too well right now, just in case you couldn’t tell. I better get my ass outside before I do something really stupid. Without my laptop, I’d really be upset. Enjoy your day and I will talk to you soon.
        Peace and Hugs my friend,
        Tammy 🙂

      • teeks55 says:

        I understand completely. My “fuse” has been extremely short lately as well. Sometimes it is all I can do not to put my fist through a wall. But then I’d have a broken fist. LOL I also understand the situation with possible undiagnosed lupus. They’ve told me I am borderline lupus and RA for over 30 years…..high inflammation….but since no diagnosis, they offer no treatment. So here I sit, literally almost on fire and no help to be had. I have lived with this for so long I feel like what’s the use at this point, I have not sought treatment for a long time because I exerted so much energy for so many years trying to find help and never got any….that I thought, this is ridiculous, just forget it and I’ll just try to live my life the best I can and all you spectacular medical experts can kiss my A$$. Anyway….now with this situation with my feet, since I am barely able to walk, I just want to try one last time…..to see if there could be some other sort of disease process going on, or just to get a fresh “take” on what is going on with me in general…..I have at least 3 autoimmune diseases diagnosed, and at least 2 undiagnosed, so I thought, let’s just try to find out ONE LAST TIME…..see what this guy has to say. If he blows me off, or if I get the least little vibe that he doesn’t want to try to help me…..that will be IT for me. No more seeking, trying, hoping, praying……I will just shut down and spend the rest of my years on this earth just trying to deal with it all on my own, in my own way. I will take the drugs that I have and try to pace myself and hope for the best. I don’t know why no one can see fit to help me, to go the extra mile and do a little extra homework and figure out WHY my body is so full of inflammation and WHY I have autoimmune issues but it’s like when my blood work doesn’t come back obviously positive for something, they just dismiss me and send me home. There is something obviously wrong here but I’ve had the door slammed in my face for so long I am just sick of it all. It’s not worth the effort anymore. So I will give this new guy one last shot and go from there. Anyway, that’s where I am….sounds like we are pretty much in the same boat. Too bad we don’t live closer together, we could sit on the porch and have some cocktails, LOL…..oh well. Like you said, it is what it is. HUGS xoxo

      • tlohuis says:

        I’ve even been to the Mayo Clinic. That was the biggest waste of time and money. Oh, you know, the place that can figure everything out that no one else can seem to figure out. My primary care doctor, GI doctor, all of them say it’s autoimmune they just don’t know which one. All the diseases I’ve been diagnosed with have been confirmed through testing, but the big picture is an autoimmune disease(s) causing all this. I’m having a really bad day, now. Don’t think I’ll make it outside, after all. Think I’ll just sit here and cry for awhile. So sick of fighting this fight. I might just decide to lay here forever until my number is up. Believe me, if you lived closer, it would definitely be sitting on the porch drinking cocktails, for sure. These damn moods change so fast. Angry as hell one minute, crying the next, doing the best I can the next minute, quitting the next minute, and on and on. Bottom line is that I have to keep fighting to keep myself alive for everyone else. What about me? I guess, as long as I’m here in the bed suffering, that’s good enough for them. I’m sorry, I’m just having a really bad day and I feel like I’m getting ready to lose it.
        You get on outside, get ya a good, strong cocktail, in our condition we can drink alone if we want to. LOL and don’t forget your book. Make sure you drink an extra one for me and I like mine strong.
        HUGS my friend,
        Tammy

Leave a Reply

