Ice Packs


Today I am grateful that I have several ice packs in the freezer for my feet. So far, these are the most effective and immediate pain relievers/distractors in my arsenal.  Painful-Foot1 When I can’t take the excruciating burning torture (severe and chronic plantar fasciitis and tendinitis) any longer, I grab a couple ice packs from the freezer and my two black velcro straps and wrap them around my metatarsal and toe joints. The relief is instantaneous and glorious. I can almost hear the sizzle as the ice douses the “flames”….  My mind goes numb along with my raw nerve endings as the cold vanquishes the pain. I sit and I relish the chill, the blessed frozen sting of relief. For a few moments, the fire is out…

Today I am grateful for the ice packs in my freezer.

plantar-fasciitis-blog-pic

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, courage, Depression, Endurance, Escape, Flare Up, Focus, Health, Hope, Hyper-Sensitivity, Inner Strength, Life Journey, Life Path, Pain Scale, Plantar Fasciitis, Sadness, Self Love, Sensory Overload, Tendinitis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ice Packs

  1. shainajohnson538 says:

    The cold makes my joints ache and if I don’t remove the cold it turns into a searing agony ache. I am the exact opposite. Heat is what does it for me!

    • teeks55 says:

      Shaina, this ice is not for fibromyalgia, it’s for plantar fasciitis, an inflammatory condition in my feet that causes intense burning pain. I use heat for my fibromyalgia pain too. My foot pain is the most incredible pain I’ve ever experienced. I have been almost unable to walk for the past month. I’ve been battling it for 10 years and this is the worst it’s ever been.

  2. Trisha says:

    Your poor feet. 😦 I’m glad you found something that brings you at least temporary relief. My feet are always so cold I’m not sure I would even feel an ice pack on them!

  3. tlohuis says:

    http://tlohuis.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/leibster-award/
    Please accept this award. If you don’t accept awards, please pass on to a fellow blogger who does.
    Thank you,
    Tammy
    Thought this might help keep you on the couch awhile

    • teeks55 says:

      Awwwww……. thank you my friend. Let me take a look and see how much is involved. I really do appreciate the recognition from my peers (you) …….I’ll just see what all’s involved and decide, okay? I’ve been up all night again with no sleep so I will try Thanks Tammy xoxo

      • tlohuis says:

        Well, let me just tell you that there is a lot involved, but I think I learned a lot, not sure I can get back on there and get started, again, all by myself. I’ll need help getting started, but take if from me, you better get started and don’t let them pile up because then you have a lot of pressure to get a bunch of them done. I have several more to do. I was awake all Sunday night and Monday day until 5:30 p.m. I went 34 hours with no sleep. Then on Tuesday, yesterday, I was awake until 5:00 a.m. this morning, Wednesday, So, I really know what you mean about the not sleeping. If you have problems doing what you need to do to get these awards posted, just make an announcement and plenty of people will come to the rescue, I am not one of them because like I just said, I don’t even know how to get started today. I don’t even know if I did it right, myself, but like I said, I did it MY way. After I get them all posted, then I should be a pro unless it’s a long time before I get another one, then I’ll forget, again. Just try to have fun with it. I’m so impatient, I was cussing for over 8 hours straight. I know you find that hard to believe! LOL All I have to say is if I can do it, anyone can do it because I know nothing about computers. All I know is the basics, like emailing, blogging, and googling, oh ya and Pinterest and Facebook. None of this technical shit. I am very proud to have received all these awards and can’t wait to get them all up on my page to show them off. Us beginners get real excited about stuff like this. Have fun. stay off those feet, hear me? Behave yourself. I know that’s a hard job, but someone’s got to do it and it certainly isn’t going to be me.:)

  4. dawnhosking says:

    I get pain in my toes especially – hope your feet are feeling better. Great tip, thanks x

Leave a Reply

