Grateful For Internet


  • The title for this post probably sounds pretty bland, considering how very common and basic internet access is these days. I remember a time, very similar to what I am going through right now (horrendous flare up of chronic pain)….many years ago, before internet was around. sadwomanbed  I was bedfast for an entire year, and had no computer. I had books and 4 channels on television (no cable tv, so broadcasts ended at around 1am.). I spent many, many sleepless nights, feeling totally lost, suicidal and alone. No way to connect with others, no ability to share what I was going through. I was completely and totally alone with my pain for a whole year. I had no one to talk to who was going through it. I experienced a loneliness that was palpable and overwhelming. Needless to say, I nearly lost my mind, not only from the incredible pain, but the agonizing isolation and boredom. So tonight, as I lay here in my bed, typing this post on my little Samsung tablet, grateful  I just want to say that I am so thankful for the ability to reach out and connect with others like me, via this wonderful phenomenon called the internet….to connect with the rest of the world, and not be stuck in this room, this house, alone.  So even though I am suffering, I know it could be much worse. So I am grateful.
About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Connections, Emotions, Empowerment, Endurance, Escape, Fibromyalgia, Flare Up, Focus, Health, Individualism, Inner Strength, Isolation, Life Journey, Life Path, Online Relationships, Osteoarthritis, Past Experiences, Peace, Plantar Fasciitis, Relationships, Sadness, Self Image, Self Love, Staying Sharp, Tendinitis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful For Internet

  1. Trisha says:

    The internet is such a blessing in some ways. It’s so great to be able to connect with others going through similar things, to find people who actually understand what we’re going through. I’m grateful for internet too!

  2. tlohuis says:

    Considering the majority of my time is spent in bed, other than doctor appointments, I would most definitely loose my mind, well actually, I think I already have shhh, because I do have cable tv, but I’m not a big tv watcher. With this ADHD watching tv is hard for me because I can’t stay focused long enough. So, praise the Lord for computers. 🙂
    Wild Thang (I’m really liking my new name) It’s been awhile since I’ve been called that, but it still suits me rather well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

