Background Noise…..


My husband has been on vacation this last week, and it’s always a joy for him to be here with me. We have a good time together. Since I have chronic illness, and I’m usually in a lot of pain, our vacations don’t usually entail much travel. We just hang out at the house, and maybe go shopping if I can handle it. What we do pretty much depends on what kind of day I’m having pain-wise. Neither of us mind this, he is just happy to be able to relax and not be working. For me, vacation time means I can spend more time with my best friend, even if we just stay around the house.

One problem, though…..he really enjoys watching television.  television  I mean Really Enjoys It. Like, when he is home…..the television is always on. Always. And for me, that is a…..challenge. To put it mildly. Because of my hyper sensitive central nervous system, the background noise of the television makes me want to jump out of my skin. It is nearly impossible for me to be in the same room with him and the televsion, mainly because of the shows he watches. He likes action movies. He likes sports. Both of which have background noise and sound effects like….screaming, shouting, shooting, squealing tires, more screaming, more shouting……crowd noise….. well, you get the picture.

Many people, probably most people, would not even notice or process this “noise”…..most people would probably just let it go in one ear and out the other. It is not that simple for me. handsonears  The way my brain is wired….it gets “stuck” on noise like TV noise and cannot get “un-snagged”….then the noise seems build and build, and it feels like it is going to blow up in my head and literally explode there. And when the television noise goes on for hours at a time, it makes me feel like I am going to have to scream. Like a kettle boiling on a stove, whistling away as the steam builds up…..something is going to blow!!!

After all these years living together, my husband now is realizing the effect that television noise has on me, and if I am in my office trying to work (which is an alcove just off the living room where the television is)….he will turn the volume down for me. foreheadhand  He knows how distracting the noise is for me and how impossible it is for me to concentrate on anything if there is that kind of noise going on. For years he did not realize how incredibly crazy it could make me…..until he started seeing my reactions to it…..I got irritable, even angry….because not only was the noise making me feel like I was going to scream but also because I hated my reaction to something as simple as television noise!!    I felt bad for being such a delicate little princess that had to have peace and quiet or she would have a meltdown. That is not the way I want to be, not the way I want to feel. But I do, and I can’t help it.

My husband will now go to the other room that has a television if he really wants to see an action movie with loud sound effects, and for that I really am grateful. I just simply cannot seem to be able to function if there is loud noise going on, so it helps me that he is so flexible. But I feel bad.

Anyway, today the television is on, he is watching a college football game (one of the worst kinds of programs for crowd noise OMG) and he has the sound turned down (without me asking)…..I am so grateful. When I am done typing this, I will tell him he can turn it back up again. We compromise. When I am trying to work or write or get something done here in my office, he will turn it down. When I am done working, I let him turn it up again and just grit my teeth.

It’s not just television noise that gets to me, it’s pretty much any loud, repetitive noise like buzzing or pretty much anything that goes on indefinitely. I also have problems with light and temperature.

This is just one of the lovely symptoms of having fibromyalgia. A hyper-sensitive central nervous system is one of the worst for me, almost as bad as the pain and fatigue. But we work around it. I’m just thankful to have a husband who understands and tries to make life a little easier for me and my hyper little brain.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Life Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Background Noise…..

  1. tlohuis says:

    http://tlohuis.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/i-am-part-of-the-wordpress-family-award/
    I would like to nominate you for the WordPress Family award. To accept this award please click the link above.

    • teeks55 says:

      Oh my god…..lol……are you really doing this to me?? LOL I really appreciate it so much, I am really honored….I will try to do what I am supposed to do in order to accept this but I’m not promising anything LOL……I have been getting some orders so hubby & I are trying to pack stuff up and it is taking alot of effort so not on computer a whole lot right now. I will see if I can get this done soon…..but if I run out of energy I’m not going to push myself….will try. Thank you Wild Thang….xoxo

      • tlohuis says:

        If I have to do it, then so do you. LOL At least you know how to do it. I have to get my son to do it for now on, It’s much easier and quicker that day. He says, mom just let me do it and it will get done a lot faster. I said ok because let’s be real here, I am never going to remember all that shit. At first I had your’s titled F&^%$(g Liebster Award or whatever award it was because I thought you would be ok with it and think it was funny, however, I wasn’t sure what some other people might think, so I figured I better change it. LOL Hell, I still have I think at least 2 more Liebster Awards for my son to do. He doesn’t get too thrilled about it, but he’d rather do it than walk me through it because I’m special,ya know, when it comes to computers. He can do it pretty fast. You just take your time. You don’t have to do it right away. Put it in the stack and if it gets done, it gets done and if it doesn’t, well so what. I just thought you deserved the award, so you got it. I liked it because at least it was something different that I didn’t already have a million of. You better be staying off those feet, young lady. No pushing yourself. Got it? I don’t need you croaking on me. I’ll be sure to keep sending them to you every time I get one. I sure hope it’s awhile before I get any more cause I’m not even done with the ones I have. Good Lord! I gotta go. I feel really sick, like light headed and like I could throw up. I haven’t eaten more than a few bites over the past few days, I don’t know what I would have in me to throw up. I better get me a bucket or something just in case. I need to go to sleep. I only got 3 hours again last night, or I mean this morning. Was awake until 3 a..m. and have been awake since 6 a.m. I’m starting to cop an attitude, imagine that. Have a good night Wild Thang Senior. I get to be junior.
        Hugs my dear friend,
        Wild Thang Jr. 🙂

  2. tlohuis says:

    It’s funny how we all have different symptoms and things that bother us, but have the same disease. I, myself, have to have noise at all times. I need my white noise for my ADHD. I used to always have my tv on, but mostly during the day I’ve been listening to music instead, until I’m going to sleep or trying to go to sleep, then I have to turn the tv on and have it on all night. Us wild thangs need our noise! I cannot stand silence. I will make my own noise if I have to. I’m glad that you and your hubby are able to compromise and that way everyone is happy.
    Peace and Hugs my friend,
    Wild Thang 🙂
    I’m needing to have another conversation with you like we had the other day. I had a good laugh and laughter is good.

    • teeks55 says:

      Wow, I can’t imagine that you actually like the noise. For me, that just goes along with me being unable to sleep many nights ….my brain is so hyper-sensitive, so wired, so overly stimulated by light and sound that I am unable to shut it off after it’s been exposed to so much stuff. That’s why I really should try to limit my computer use especially at night. The bright light from the monitor and the stimulation from being interactive with the computer is just too much sensory overload for my brain. I bet if I could limit myself and turn everything off a few hours before bedtime I could probably develop better sleep habits. It’s so crazy….I know what I should be doing, yet do I do it?? NO. LOL I’m so Type A it’s just sick. LOL

      • tlohuis says:

        Well, now, girl, I got that damn ADHD along with everything else. I’m having terrible insomnia lately, probably would be better if I shut this damn laptop down, like you said a few hours sooner. And you should know someone with a name like Wild Thang ain’t gonna be quiet. I never claimed to be able to shut if off, that’s why I can’t sleep. My brain never shuts down. Thoughts always racing and racing. I’m gonna try to turn this laptop off earlier tonight, won’t be easy, but I’m gonna do it and I’ll let you know what happens. I’ll probably be staring at the ceiling all night. I’m type A, too. Isn’t that a cryin’ shame? I know exactly what I’m supposed to be dong, too. Do I do it. HELL NO! I can’t. But, yes, this ADHD causes me to have to have my white noise. If there’s no noise around, you trust me, I’ll make some. I can’t sit still either. I may be in bed, but I got those legs and feet going. I’m a hot mess!
        Wild Thang:)

  3. dawnhosking says:

    I empathise completely with what you describe here and especially the not wanting to be affected but we are – it’s challenging to say the least x

  4. I know exactly how you feel. The minute I have the house to myself everything that makes noise is turned off. I don’t think my family realizes how much it makes me want to crawl out of my skin and it’s really hard not to get irritated and crabby.

    • teeks55 says:

      Me too! I keep it quiet when he goes to work and I am alone. I crave my solitude, I need it. I am really terrified when he retires in a few years, we are going to be in trouble. I am trying hard to learn how to just tune out the noise but so far it is very difficult. It’s impossible for me to read or concentrate on anything if I’m in the same room with that television blasting away…..the worst are the commercials, I think…..with the loud, fast talking and the stupid jingles and music…..OMG. I just want to get up and run out of the room screaming. LOL Many times, I just pick up the remote and hit the MUTE button….I just tell him, Please, just at least while the commercials are on, PLEASE mute it for me just for the commercials. If I had my way I would only have the television on for specific things I want to see…..but he just turns it on and starts flipping……he eventually lands on something he wants to see but nine times out of ten it’s some “guy flick” with lots of shooting, screaming and loud stuff…….oh give me strength!!! Agghhhhh!

  5. joynpain2 says:

    You are blessed to have someone who will even try to compromise with you. Don’t worry. With a relationship like you have, I am sure retirement will be great! (after a little bit of adjustment time 😉 )

    I am the same way…maybe not as extreme. When I am home by myself everything is off. If I am in a “spunky” mood I listen to music…but it’s usually some sort of ballad…or country. However, TV and concentration are impossible. Anything I have to concentrate on has to wait until I’m home alone…and everything is off.

    • teeks55 says:

      Strangely, music is the only thing I truly love to listen to….loud. I’ve always been connected to music and if I’m in the mood, I can lose myself in it. Many times, music can get through all the nooks and crannies and touch me in a way that nothing else can. But I mean, music….real music….not the crap that is out there today. Melody, harmony….not the crude junk that they call “music” nowadays. (now I’m sounding like my mother LOL) I can almost always settle back and be completely absorbed in hours of music if it is the style and mood that matches mine at that moment. I am pretty varied in my tastes but just cannot handle the rap and hip hop stuff. But most of the time, I prefer and cherish the silence.

Leave a Reply

