Please Try……


ocean-waves-243229

When you see me

getting upset

over stupid little things

please try to remember

the pain I carry in my body every second

of every day.

foreheadhand

When you hear me

slamming doors

or being unreasonable

please try to remember

how the pain makes me crazy

and want to scream.

handsonears

When you watch me

get very quiet and retreat into myself

because I can’t take any more

please try to remember

that my brain is overloaded with noise, light

but above all

the pain that never, ever, ever goes away.

woman with head in hands

When I start to take it out on you

please try to remember

that it’s nothing personal

I am only lashing out at you

because you

are the closest target

and please know how bad I feel

after I’ve said or done something

to hurt you.

????????????????????????????????????????

Please try to remember

how I wish things were different

and how sorry I am that you have to

experience this hell

right along with me, just in a different way.

hangingheadman

Please try to remember

how much I love you

and need you.

Without you, I could never make it

through another day.

Please try to remember

that no matter what happens

you have made my life worth living

and I thank you

for your patience, your kindness,

your understanding

and your compassion.

holdinghands460

You are the one shining light

the constant, steady place

where I can run to

for solace and strength.

You will never know how thankful

I am that you came

into my life

and how very much you mean to me.

maturecouple

(this poem is the intellectual property of The Nocturnal Laundress ~ Julie Nichols © 2013)

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Anger, Anger Management, Arthritis, Central Nervous System, Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Compassion, Depression, Emotions, Empowerment, Endurance, Escape, Fear, Fibromyalgia, Forgiveness, Health, Hope, Hyper-Sensitivity, Inner Strength, Irritability, Isolation, Life Journey, Life Path, Osteoarthritis, Pain Scale, Past Experiences, Peace, Relationships, Sadness, Self Hate, Self Image, Self Love, Sensory Overload, Sharing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Please Try……

  1. dawnhosking says:

    I could feel the raw emotion and resonate with it completely; a stunning piece of writing.

  2. dawnhosking says:

    Reblogged this on dawnyhosking and commented:
    This says it all so well and is a treat to read….

  3. marcus says:

    Raw emotion. Expressed so vividly. Lovely.

  4. Yes so well written and so full of emotion. A true insight into the terrible impact pain can have on everyone.

  5. tjgypsyhippie says:

    Reblogged this on Peace. Purpose. Pondering. and commented:
    Beautiful

  6. Megan S says:

    Amazing! It certainly resonates with me.

  7. tlohuis says:

    Beautifully written, girl! I couldn’t have said it better myself. Hope you don’t mind, I’m going to reblog this at tlohuis. 🙂

  8. tlohuis says:

    Reblogged this on Walk with me on my journey of illness to the road of happiness and a life of fulfillment and commented:
    Beautifully written by my dear friend Julie. I couldn’t have said this better.

  9. Yes, it is beautifully written, from a spirit who has been very deep inside. Thank you for a lovely share. Namaste

  10. ladymigraine says:

    I agree with everyone here. I wish I had written it, but will instead try to recreate it vocally tomorrow, for my husband. He hates the retreating the most.

  11. Michelle says:

    very resonating well written. I am reblogging. Thank you.

  12. Michelle says:

    Reblogged this on Fibro… Dealing and coping through laughter and tears and commented:
    Those of us who have to deal with chronic pain, often treat the closest to us badly – when they are trying to help. This poem by Julie is great for those people who have to deal with us.

Leave a Reply

