The Seam On My Jeans


jeans

I’ve worn jeans for about 45 years. Big fan of jeans. Love the comfort, the look….pretty much have always loved wearing jeans. Never had any problems with them. I mean what problems could a person have with wearing jeans??

I’ve been having a hard time lately with my chronic pain issues. Trying to come out of a 7 week flare up, but the cold weather is making it difficult. I am finding myself really worn out from the constant pain. So I thought I would lay down on the couch for about a half hour before my husband got home from work.

I got my microwavable hot pack heated up, grabbed my blanket and my pillow and headed for the couch.

Took my glasses off and laid them on the coffee table. Got myself laid down on the couch, put the hot pack between my back and the back of the couch (I was laying on my side) and threw the blanket over myself. Settled in and closed my eyes.

I became aware of some discomfort. It was under my hip. It was the seam of my jeans. It was like, what the heck, the seam of my jeans is really digging into my hip…. what the heck? seam2jeans I scooched my rear end a little bit, trying to get the seam over a little bit. I closed my eyes. No. The seam was still digging into my hip. I thought, Are you serious? It feels like I am laying on a railroad tie…..this stupid seam is really making me nuts!!!  I scooched my butt a little more, trying to get the seam over just a little bit so it would not dig into my hip so I could sleep. No way. That damn seam was not going to cooperate. It really, truly felt like I was laying on a tree branch. A golf club. A broom handle. A barbed wire fence.

I thought to myself, how freaking hyper-sensitive I am…..a seam on my jeans, keeping me from being able to get comfortable and sleep for a half hour on the couch. Are you kidding me?? No I am not kidding.

The hypersensitivity of fibromyalgia can be extreme. Many times the pain feels like it is even in my skin. hippain My skin literally hurts….to be touched sometimes, even lightly, can cause extreme sensations of pain and tenderness. And of course, the muscles are tender as well. So for people with fibromyalgia, even a simple seam on a pair of jeans can cause pain.

I hate that this happens, because people that do not have fibro think we are exaggerating and blowing our pain out of proportion. This is not true at all. One day, the seam of my jeans may not bother me at all, some days like today, even a stupid seam can bother me enough to make me get up and forget about my nap.

Anyway, my nap never happened, my husband just walked through the door….and my hip still hurts.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Fibromyalgia, Flare Up, Health, Hyper-Sensitivity, Life Journey, Pain Scale and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Seam On My Jeans

  1. Jumping_Jenny_444 says:

    The same thing happened with me and tight-fitting shirts. I used to wear them all the time without a problem. When I got fibro though, that’s when it felt like my underarms and forearms were suffocating (sounds strange, I know) and it was noticeably uncomfortable. So I ended up getting rid of all my tight fitting shirts and I now wear clothing that’s a little more loose but not too baggy.

  2. vicbriggs says:

    I’ve never had that problem with jeans, but I did with other pieces so I fully sympathise.

  3. dawnhosking says:

    I get terrible pain in the hips and fortunately it has eased a little. I tend to wear really soft, stretch jeans but will take care to note any irritation from them 😉

  4. I’ve had that happen, I also get a burning sensation to the skin on my thighs, makes jeans extremely uncomfortable at times.

  5. shainajohnson538 says:

    I feel your pain! I work partially at home and the rest of the week in the office. I got up this morning and decided to go into the office until I spotted my jeans and imagined the sometimes uncomfortable-ness of work pants. I then crawled back into bed and told my hubby that I hate the world. Needless to say, I am working from home today in PJs!

    • teeks55 says:

      Had to laugh at your decision to crawl back into bed and telling your hubby that you hate the world!! LOL! I am sort of feeling that way today too. But I did get into my jeans. hahaha Would like a nap but not sure about laying on the couch again. I have a sleep number bed with 3″ of memory foam on top of that. Sounds like a better choice than the couch! 🙂 Hope you feel better. xoxo

  6. Trisha says:

    You’ve perfectly described what I go through at night if I don’t take something to calm my nervous system down. Seams in pajamas, wrinkles in sheets – they do feel like laying on a tree branch.

Leave a Reply

