Grieving For A Little Midwestern Town….


I am grieving for the little town of Washington, IL tonight. A town that has been a big part of my life for 17 years. A town that had a devastating storm rip through it about 15 hours ago and obliterate many homes and lives. This town has been dealt a harsh blow by Mother Nature. I am just absolutely sick over this.

The small town square of Washington holds several small antique shops. I began my antique selling career there, 17 years ago and sold out of 2 of those shops for many years. I frequently go there to buy antiques at those shops still. Thankfully the shops on the square were spared, as far as I know. Information is still spotty, because the devastation of some of the subdivisions is so massive and all telephone lines are down, including cell towers, as well as power outages.

Also, many other towns were affected by this storm, including Pekin, my home town where I grew up. There was some heavy damage there as well.

I think I heard that there were at least SIX large tornadoes touchdown in several areas near us.

We, here in Peoria, were spared any damage except for some wind damage. My husband and I are okay.

Please look around you, look at your home, feel the warmth and be grateful for what you have. Because in an instant, it could be gone……just like that. Just like that, you could be homeless. In the blink of an eye.

Pray for Washington……

Image

 

Image

 

Image

This is an actual photo of the monster tornado that ripped through Washington IL shortly after 11am Sunday morning.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Life Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Grieving For A Little Midwestern Town….

  1. jenusingword says:

    Such devastation! Glad you are okay. I am donating to the Red Cross!

  2. jenusingword says:

    Reblogged this on jenusingword's Blog and commented:
    IF YOU CAN DONATE ANYTHING, PLEASE DO. THE RED CROSS IS A GOOD PLACE TO GO TO. THESE PEOPLE WILL BE HURTING AND NEEDING OUR HELP.

  3. I’ve lived through Hurricanes Andrew, Charley, and a bunch of smaller ones as well. I’ve had my house torn to shreds while I was in it, yet it never ceases to amaze me when I see this type of devastation elsewhere, it really hits home. Prayers to those affected, hope for a speedy recovery as well.

  4. dawnhosking says:

    It looks horrific, just awful xxx

  5. Yes so sorry to hear of all the devastation. Stay strong. No doubt the community will rally and be stronger for the pain Mother Nature has caused. Our thoughts are with all of those that have suffered in this. It won’t be an easy time.

  6. Michelle says:

    I am so sorry for your loss and the devastation and loss around you. It is hard to loose such big connections to your life and past.

Leave a Reply

