Shell of Me….


Shell of Me....

Sometimes I look at myself in the mirror and I don’t even recognize my reflection. After all these years, all these agonies, all the head trips, all the experiences….good and bad….I can’t believe that the young, resilient Julie has turned into a 58 year old woman. A woman who tries to stay positive, but struggles with anger, bitterness, sadness, cynicism, sarcasm and most of all, feeling so lost. Hollow. I am broken, inside and out…..I have been broken for so long. The pieces of me just keep getting smaller and smaller until I wonder if there is anything left inside of me….and when I look in the mirror, all I see…..is a shell of me.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
Image | This entry was posted in Aging, Anger, Arthritis, Bitterness, Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Dealing With Doctors, Depression, Discouragement, Emotions, Endurance, Fibromyalgia, Hopelessness, Isolation, Life Journey, Osteoarthritis, Sadness, Self Image and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shell of Me….

  1. suzjones says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Julie. Here is a huge virtual hug for you (((((hugs))))).

  2. joynpain2 says:

    I hope that you begin to find yourself again. I think most of us lost who we were with chronic pain. I know I’m no closer to finding myself than I was yesterday. Baby steps my friend. Baby steps.

    • teeks55 says:

      Hi Joy……thanks for the comment. I have been on a blog vacation for awhile, but I want to get back to writing soon. I appreciate your taking the time to read and comment. Hope you have a very Happy New Year!!! xoxo

  3. tlohuis says:

    I’m so sorry, girl. I feel the same way. The exact same way. I couldn’t have said that better. I keep trying, but seem to never feel any different. Chronic illness robs us of our souls, it truly does. Joy is just a baby, a youngster. There may still be hope for her…………………………………HUGS my dear friend. So sorry, you have to feel this way, too. Just know you aren’t alone. You always got hollow, broken down, lost, sarcastic Wild Thang to walk this damn journey with.

  4. tjgypsyhippie says:

    Right there with ya.

Leave a Reply

