Reading ~ Good Therapy


The Joy Of Reading....

I had a difficult night earlier and felt desperately depressed for awhile. Just everything had me feeling hopeless and sad and overwhelmed for a few hours. Then I grabbed a book, and it was like medicine to my soul. I don’t know if anyone else feels this way about reading, but it truly has saved me from drowning in my problems many times. A good author who weaves a good story can really lift me up and out of my reality for awhile at least, and helps me get my perspective back, as well as spend some quiet time in solitude…..I found that experience again tonight. I’m so grateful for a good book!

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
Image | This entry was posted in Books, Choices, Depression, Discouragement, Emotions, Escape, Hope, Isolation, Life Journey, Reading, Sadness, Solitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reading ~ Good Therapy

  1. Trisha says:

    I’ve had times like that too, where everything just feels sad and wrong and I pick up a book and things feel right and manageable again. I’m glad you had a good book to draw you in. Hooray for good authors!

  2. Cassie says:

    This can lift me up too. I’ve had a rough week. Maybe I need to pick up a book that I know I love.

    • teeks55 says:

      Hi Cassie and thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I appreciate you reading my blog. I have had a little blog vacation lately, but want to get back to writing. Thanks again and Happy New Year!

      • Cassie says:

        Blog vacations are sometimes needed! Totally understandable. : ) I’m happy you’re blogging again, I will definitely come back.

  3. Reading has helped me so many times. It has taken me away from my illness, calmed me when I was a nervous wreck, and sometimes gave me a good laugh when I really needed one.

    • teeks55 says:

      thanks so much for your comment. I’m sorry I haven’t responded sooner. I have been on sort of a blog hiatus for awhile. I have been reading all my reader’s responses and they are giving me a needed “nudge” to get back to writing. I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. I am reading Sycamore Row right now by John Grisham….it’s great! Also reading some Rolling Stone magazines. I also have some AARP mags and Arthritis Today. OMG, I am so behind!!! LOL Thanks a gain Kathryn for reading and commenting. Happy New Year!

  4. I get completely lost in books, always have at least one going!

  5. tlohuis says:

    Sometimes I can do this. I go through my reading modes where I can’t read enough, but right now I’m in my non reading mode. I’ll grab a book and want to read, but just can’t get into it. I sure hope I can get back into it soon. I’ve got, literally, over 100 books over here I need to read. My mom is in a book club and has been for years and when she’s done with a book, she gives it to me. She probably has at least, and I’m not even kidding, 300 or more over there for me. I have no idea where I’m going to put them, but they are mine. She reads, faithfully, every night before she goes to sleep. The last few books I read took me like 9 months for each book because I wasn’t in my reading mode, and I wanted to be so bad. My mom kept asking me if I was done with that book and I would say, “no mom, not yet” 2 months later, then she’d ask again in another few months. 9 months. Seriously! By the time I finished the books, I had no idea what I had read because there was so much time in between each time I would sit down, which is hard enough for me, and read. LOL LOL
    I’m glad that you found something that works for you. Hang in there, girl.
    HUG my dear friend,
    Wild Thang

  6. tjgypsyhippie says:

    Reading and music have kept me afloat all my life. Have to really be in the mood to read nowadays. Blogs are good for times when I can’t stay focused or hold a position for long enough to read a novel. Saw your post about Led Zep. Their music – and Robert Plants solo work since – always has a song that expresses exactly how I feel. I know what you mean about it not even being the words . . . It is the feeling of the music. Great companions – books & music.

Leave a Reply

