A Heartfelt Thank You….


I would like to thank my fellow blogger, Megan, for nominating me for the Lighthouse Award.  It made my return from a small blog-vacation especially nice!  If you have not visited Megan’s blog, please do.  You can find her blog “My Chronic Life Journey” HERE.

Image

This award asks the recipient to share three ways that you like to help people.  After some thought, I chose these three things:

1.  Listening.  I think this is one of the best ways a person can help another person.  Advice is nice but not always appropriate.  Listening to someone is usually always appropriate and most always appreciated.  Listening is almost a lost art.  It takes effort to really hear what someone is trying to express.  Most people sort of half-listen while they are mentally trying to prepare what they want to say next, after the other person has stopped talking.  Listening is a caring, giving art that makes people feel validated, valued and provides an outlet for sometimes overwhelming emotions.

2.  Humor.  Sometimes, laughter can bring things back into perspective. When a person is feeling overwhelmed or down….sometimes a funny picture or video can lighten the mood and lift spirits. Not always appropriate but at times, laughter can make everything seem a little less daunting. I have seen people light up when humor is shared. I myself have done a complete emotional turn-around when I saw a funny video, picture or heard a funny joke. There is nothing like humor to lift the clouds and bring a refreshment to the soul.

3. A Kind Word.  Something as simple as the words, “I am here and I care” can be profoundly healing to someone in a crisis. If there is a person who is hurting, just another person reaching out and saying a few kind words can mean the difference between despair and hope. Everyone needs a kind word from time to time, especially when that person is going through tough times. The power of just a few kind words can be incredibly immense.

My nominees for this award are:

Suzjones of the blog It Goes On

Vic Briggs of the blog A Writer Adrift

Kerry of the blog Kerry C. Mitchell’s Adventures

Megan of the blog My Chronic Life Journey

Trisha of the blog Notes From The Fog

Leslie of the blog Just Another F-bomb

PosiPesi of the blog PosiPesi – Take A Peek Inside My Mind

Thanks to everyone of these nominees for making me feel valued and appreciated!

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Award, Best Self, Blogging, Honor, Individualism, Life Journey, Life Path, Online Relationships, Reading, Recognition, Sharing, Uniqueness, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Heartfelt Thank You….

  1. vicbriggs says:

    Congratulations and many many thanks for thinking of me. I love your writeup, and especially that you chose “listening” for the top of the list.

  2. suzjones says:

    Thankyou and congratulations.
    I am so honoured that you thought of me. I love your list. It is very inspirational. 🙂

  3. posipesi says:

    Thank you very much! You are such a wonderful fellow blogger, and I very much appreciate all the support you give me as well!

  4. Thank you for awarding me this award. I’m honored.

  5. Megan S says:

    Congratulations again and thank you for the nomination 🙂

  6. Trisha says:

    Congratulations on the award and thank you for the nomination! I love your list of ways to help others!

Leave a Reply

