I Must Respectfully Decline….


Hi everyone, and thank you so much for reading my blog and providing such wonderful, flattering and complimentary comments. I cannot tell you how much you all mean to me. Your kind words truly make my life so much richer. It’s validation from you, my peers, and that is exceptionally cherished by me. I love to read your comments and hear that some thing I wrote resonates with you and touches your life.

I appreciate so much all the awards that I have received from so many of you. These honors are so special to me and I feel humbled that so many of you have nominated me for so many awards!  It’s a bit overwhelming, but very heartwarming.

Unfortunately, due to the length of time that it takes to fully follow all the rules when accepting these awards, I have decided that from now on I think I am going to respectfully decline any more awards. It’s not that I don’t love to be validated and recognized, it’s just that I really can’t take so much  time working on these when I have so many other things that need my attention. I could literally spend hours here, just accepting awards and nominating others, etc etc and I’m finding that it’s just too much for me at this time in my life (even though it’s fun). 🙂

Life can get complicated, and when you have chronic illness, energy is a valuable, fleeting and very tenuous commodity. I am finding that along with my pain, that my fatigue level and energy level is beginning to wane quicker as I age and I’m afraid that now is the time I’m just going to have to simplify my life as much as i can.

As many of you know, I run a small antique business, both online at Ruby Lane website and also at a very nice antique mall in Peru IL. This little business venture of mine (17 years now) has really taken up a lot of my time and energy to make it successful. I never seem to have enough time to devote to taking photos, listing items, tending to questions and emails from potential buyers, packing orders, shipping, etc….things that I must do to keep my business fresh and vital. It is a LOT of work. And it takes up a LOT of time. And to remain on top of the game it is very important to keep things moving at a steady pace. I have slacked off lately because the energy level is just not there most days and a lot of the time I find myself in front of the computer doing other things instead of getting down to business. I am still doing well with my business but I know I could do better if I applied myself more. That will require forfeiting some of the other things that I can eliminate from my life in order to make more time and room for things that I need to do.

Then there is the housework. I do the best I can. Along with cooking meals for my husband and myself (which I really hate, I am not fond of kitchen duty), and everything else that daily life requires….I just need to scale back what I can and try to make things a little less “packed” with “stuff to do”. By the end of the day, I am so worn out…. I think I am my own worst enemy when it comes to pushing myself beyond my limits, physically and mentally.

Anyway, I sincerely hope that all of you understand where I am coming from. It is not that I don’t love getting awards….it’s just all that goes along with it that I just cannot do any longer. Those of you who struggle with chronic pain know the terrible toll that it can take on you, physically, mentally, spiritually….and I’m finding that as I age, everything seems to be getting worse….. and that is why I must come to terms with all the “stuff” in my life and downsize, simplify, declutter and give myself a break. I just can’t keep pushing myself to do it all anymore.

So….please just keep in touch, comment when the spirit moves you, and I hope that I can continue to share from my heart and manage to touch yours from time to time…..  Thank you so much!

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Life Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Must Respectfully Decline….

  1. I understand exactly what you are saying. I am at the same point. I will accept the awards but will not be able to follow through with the requirements. I did this in the beginning of my blog but am finding, like you, that it takes a great deal of energy and time to do these correctly and still maintain a blog, keep moving forward with improving health, and the daily routines of life in general.

  2. I completely get it, I’ve been feeling the same myself. I just don’t have the energy to tackle them anymore!

  3. Kate Loveton says:

    Save your energy for your blog – I love it.

Leave a Reply

