Temperature’s Dropping Again…


And here we go again, folks. That predictable unpredictable-ness of January in the midwest. Once again we are experiencing a drastic temperature drop here in Illinois, from near 50 degrees yesterday to a bone chilling low of 22 degrees tonight, a frigid 6 degree low for tomorrow night and then a particularly brutal -3 degree low for Sunday night. Holy Icicles, Batman. bundledup

It’s uncomfortable for anybody, these temperature fluctuations. But when you have chronic pain, it can be absolutely and outrageously painful.

I’m 60 years old, and have had fibromyalgia for 35 years. I’ve had osteoarthritis for about 25 years or so. Both are worse as I get older. This past year has been extremely difficult. My hands are especially bad, along with feet, hips, lumbar spine, knees. Then the fibro takes care of the soft tissue….the aching….if feels like having a severe case of the flu every day. For 35 years. Yeah.

It is really hard when these fluctuations in the temperature happen over and over again, jumping up and down like crazy. (thank you, climate change). I find that for me, it’s not so much the cold that is the problem, it’s the changing in the temps. Not after the cold arrives, but before.

Tonight the temps have dropped about 20 degrees from yesterday’s high. Plus there is a bit of snow moving into the area. So I’m definitely feeling it. My bones ache. My muscles ache. My fingers, my lumbar spine and my feet ache. I feel like shit, basically.

As we proceed into the weekend, it’s only going to continue to get worse. I want to just cuddle up on my sleep-number bed, with my down comforter, an e-book and a cat…but I have to go to the lab at the hospital for blood work tomorrow morning. vialblood  So it looks like I will be not only feeling like shit, but also having to get dressed, put on make-up and fix my bed-head hair a little bit so I don’t scare any children I might happen to see there.

I would just blow it off but I can’t. Now my doc thinks I might have rheumatoid arthritis in addition to my fibro and osteo. Oh freaking joy. So this is something I have to get done. During dropping temps. In January… in the midwest.

Wish me luck. I’m going to need it. This is going to be a rough weekend.

About teeks55

I'm a sleep deprived antique dealer with fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis, diabetes & more. Love hubby, cats, books & humor! Avid tea drinker. Poker player. Pain fighter.
This entry was posted in Aging, Arthritis, Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Endurance, Fibromyalgia, Flare Up, Health, Life Journey, Osteoarthritis, Pain Scale, Plantar Fasciitis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Seasons, Temperature Changes, Tendinitis, Weather Changes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Temperature’s Dropping Again…

  1. Trisha says:

    Hi, Julie, it’s good to see you back in the blogging world! Although, I wish it were under better circumstances and not the weather wreaking havoc on your body. When I see the big temperature fluctuations that happen there in the Midwest, I just cringe. I can’t even imagine. It’s hard enough for me to go from sunny days to rainy days and then back again. Those big temp drops and rises must really be hell.

    I hope your visit to the hospital wasn’t too terrible and you’re back in your sleep number bed curling up with that cat. 🙂

  2. teeks55 says:

    Hey Trisha! Nice to see you again! Yes, it’s been too long. Glad to be back. I actually have to go to the hospital tomorrow morning (I just updated my post to show that)….but my hubby can take me and we’ll definitely be using one of their wheelchairs to get me from Point A (the parking deck) to Point B (the lab) and then back again. It’s a long walk that I cannot handle with my poor old feet. So thank god for hubby and for wheelchairs.

    You must live either way out west or down south, I can’t recall. I would like to be either of those places right now! Although when a front moves in bringing rain with it….omg. Oh, the pain. I guess we could change or alter the name “fibromyalgia” to “chronic human barometer syndrome”. haha 🙂

    Thanks so much for responding to my post, and I hope you have a great weekend! I’ll stop by and have a look at your blog soon!! xoxo

    • Trisha says:

      Yes, I live out west, near Seattle. Our weather is more moderate but dampness is a big, long-term problem for me in the winter, although it doesn’t bring sharp pain the way big temperature changes do. I hope your visit to the hospital went well. Hooray for hubby being able to take you!

Leave a Reply

