Why I Am The Way I Am…


I will not be made to feel small by the judgements of other people. There are reasons I am the way I am. If that doesn’t measure up to the high standards you’ve set for me then I apologize. I have some shit going on in my own life and it’s very very heavy. I can NOT be everything to all people. I am mostly just trying to survive and do what I need to do. Yes I am flawed and yes I have issues. I fail miserably at many things. I spend the major part of my life in bed or wishing I could be in bed due to severe pain that no one can see because I hide it well when I’m out, or around other people. I don’t broadcast it or moan or scream or cry or wear a sad face. After 33 years I am a great actress, so if you see me outside of the house you would never guess what is going on under the facade. Most people will never understand the depth or severity of what I deal with on a daily basis. Some see me on a good day, running an errand or eating at a restaurant with my husband or doing something else and consider, Well she can’t be hurting that bad or She is lying or She doesn’t look like she is in that much pain to me. Some wonder why I spend 95% of my time alone in my house while hubby is at work. They might think I’m lazy or just sitting around watching tv and eating bon bons, or whatever. No. I am hurting THAT BAD. Bad enough that my life and my world has become very very SMALL. Most of the time I just try to make it to the next pain pill….try to read a book…..or if the pain is too much and I can’t concentrate on reading, then I just lay on my bed with my eyes closed and ride the pain out.

When a good day comes I try to balance my activity so I don’t do too much (which is hard) because if I do just a little too much then I’m back in bed for another day or another week or another month. Now since my 4 herniated disks have happened, I have new pain to learn to deal with. Along with getting older. I’ll be 61 this year and I’m feelin it. My body is not user-friendly. It has been my prison, my enemy. I have tried so many things to make myself better but nothing ever seems to work. The only respite I have found are the opioids. They block the pain for a few hours, not completely but enough so that I don’t lose my sanity. Unrelenting pain for over 30 years is not easy to take. Many times I have felt like I’m losing my grip. I am strong, but the pain that resides in my body is WAY stronger than me.

So if you look at me and wonder why I am the way I am…..consider what I’ve just said, and try to understand. If the pain had not invaded my life, everything…..EVERYTHING…..would be different. This is not the way I’d planned it. This is not how I’d hoped my life would turn out to be. But it is what it is. If you wish things had been different, trust me, so do I.

About *SpiritSeeker*

I'm a tree hugger. Plant lover. Moon worshipper. Crystal gazer. A reader. A crazy cat lady. Aging bohemian hippie. Poker player. Pain fighter. I practice Meditation. I live with fibro, RA, osteo, gout, thyroid disease, diabetes & more. I use CBD for my chronic pain & insomnia, along with other prescribed meds. I'm a Spirit seeker, looking for Peace & Love & Light. Trying to find my way. I have a long way to go. :)
This entry was posted in Aging, Anger, Arthritis, Bitterness, Challenges, Changes, Chronic Illness, Chronic Pain, Compassion, Depression, Despair, Diagnosis, Discouragement, Emotions, Endometriosis, Endurance, Escape, Fear, Fibromyalgia, Flare Up, Health, Hope, Hopelessness, Inner Strength, Irritability, Isolation, Life Journey, Life Path, Medication, Narcotics, Opiates, Opioids, Osteoarthritis, Pain Medication, Pain Scale, Past Experiences, Peace, Plantar Fasciitis, Reading, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Sadness, Self Hate, Self Image, Self Love, Self Protection, Sensory Overload, Sharing, Stigma, Survival, Tendinitis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment